Du besöker just nu Medarbetarwebben utan att vara inloggad. Logga in för att ta del av innehåll för medarbetare.

Boards and committees

Södertörn University has a number of boards and committees.

A working group for gender mainstreaming

In 2016 the vice-chancellor decided to appoint a working group to
make a plan for gender mainstreaming.

Doctoral Student Council

The Doctoral Student Council (Doktorandrådet) is an association of doctoral students under the auspices of the university's student union, SöderS. It works to represent the interests of Södertörn University's doctoral students, both across institutions and through a range of university leadership bodies and advisory committees.

The Doctoral Student Council also provides a forum to discuss common concerns and explore opportunities to promote a positive working and academic environment.

The doctoral council at Södertörn University brings together 16 representatives from across the university’s five institutions, five research areas, and a range of boards and committees, to address matters that impact the learning and working environment for PhD students. This includes raising concerns with university leadership and administrators, identifying development opportunities, sharing information to ensure it reaches all PhDs, and actively contributing to the best experience possible for doctoral studies at Södertörn University.

To share information about general PhD-related matters that you feel should be taken up by the council, please email us at doctoralcouncil@sh.se. You can also use this email address to share seminars, workshops or other opportunities that may be of interest to a broad range of PhD students. Send a brief description and any necessary details and we can include these in regular newsletters or email communications.

If your question or concern is specific to your institution or research area, please refer to your local representative.

The Council for Research Ethics

The Council for Research Ethics tasks are to create knowledge about research ethics issues within the university and to assess and investigate suspicions of deviations from good research practice.

The Council for Research Ethics is an advisory body to the vice-chancellor and has two primary tasks:

  • The Council must work to increase knowledge at the university, regarding issues relating to research ethics, such as through training in ethical review and the management of research data.
  • The Council must evaluate and investigate suspicions of scientific misconduct and other deviations from good research practice, as well as advising the vice-chancellor in decision-making, based on the management procedure for this area established by the university (see the management procedure).

Chair and convenor:

Kerstin Cassel

One representative of the Faculty Board:

Stina Bengtsson

Two representatives for teaching staff:

Jenny Gunnarsson Payne
Fredrik Svenaeus

One representative for doctoral students:

Lotta Björkman


Gabriela Voglio

The Publications Committee

The Publications Committee is committed to the publishing of high-quality research that has been carried out by the university's researchers and teachers.

The Publications Committee's mandate is to:

  • support the university's researchers when they want to publish their research results
  • ensure that the work published in the university's name is of a high scholarly standard
  • decide which publications are eligible for support
  • promote researchers' publications in those journals that lead to increased research funding
  • determine funding for publications
  • provide information about strategic publishing
  • form a reference group for the publications database (DiVA) to ensure high quality is maintained

  • May 26
  • June 23
  • September 22
  • October 27
  • November 24
  • December 15

The Södertörn Academic Studies series is mainly comprised of monographs and anthologies that present definitive research results from projects carried out at Södertörn University. The series are open to all fields of research and disciplines, but as a large majority of research at Södertörn University focuses on the Baltic Sea Region this series addresses the social, political, economic and cultural developments in countries bordering the Baltic Sea.


Joakim Ekman External link., Professor, School of Social Sciences


Mikael Lönnborg External link., Professor, School of Social Sciences
Fredrik Stiernstedt External link., Senior Lecturer, School of Culture and Education and CBEES
Per Ledin External link., Professor, School of Culture and Education
Philipp Seuferling External link., Doctoral student, School of Culture and Education
Mats Grahn External link. (adjunct) Natural Sciences, Technology and Environmental Studies
Norbert Götz External link. (adjunct) Professor, Historical and Contemporary Studies


Jonathan Robson External link.
If you have questions please contact publications@sh.se

Recruitment Committees

The university has two recruitment committees. These are bodies that prepare the appointment and promotion of lecturers, senior lecturers, associate professors, professors, and others. The members of the recruitment committees are appointed by the Faculty Board.

Cases are processed in accordance with the provisions of the Higher Education Ordinance and the university’s Appointments Procedure.

Page manager

Questions about page content? Use the contact in the relevant expander.

Want the page updated? - Fill in this form

For other questions, please email info@sh.se

Last updated: 2022-03-28 by Tim Klingenberg de Verdier