You are visiting the public pages on our employee web. Please log in to access content that is only for employees.

  • Start
  • / Home News
  • / Nominate honorary doctor 2024 at Södertörn University

Nominate honorary doctor 2024 at Södertörn University

akademisk högtid

Prior to next academic celebrations (February 9, 2024), the Faculty Board wants to initiate the process to select an honorary doctor. At each academic celebration since 2013, one or more honorary doctors is named by the Faculty Board after a nomination process among scholars at Södertörn University. University staff and students through the student union of SöderS may nominate honorary doctors.

According to present rules an honorary doctor can be

  • A person who has completed a doctoral degree and who has significantly promoted research, education or collaboration at the university.
  • A person who by virtue of other, non-academic, outstanding merits and contributions within e.g. culture, public education, pedagogy, civil society, the public sector or business has been significant and inspiring for the university's research, education or collaboration.

Previous honorary doctors

2013: Piotr Sztompka
2014: Rosa Taikon
2015: Nick Couldry
2016: Chantal Mouffe
2017: (no academic ceremony)
2018: Sten Heckscher
2019: Diana Mishkova
2020: Elena Marushiakova
2021: Andrea Petö
2022: Rainer Hartleb
2023: Julia Kristeva

Nominate candidates

Nominate candidates to honorary doctor not later than August 18, 2023 by emailing your suggestion with a nominating text of maximum one page to the Faculty Board. The Faculty Board decides upon a ranking order of nominees. Nominations to honorary doctor are confidential until decisions have been taken, the person concerned has accepted and a communications plan has been formulated.


Questions about page content? Use the contact in the relevant expander.

Want the page updated? - Fill in this form

For other questions, please email